Webinars

Date claimer: Keep the 1st Wednesday of the month free for our webinars.
A webinar is an online presentation or seminar. Click here for detailed instructions for connecting and participating in the webinars.

Throughout 2018, ASLA will continue to provide high quality professional development in the form of regular online webinars. It is possible to update your skills and knowledge of current issues relevant to teacher librarians in the comfort of your own home! Webinars are usually held on the first Wednesday of each month, are of one-hour duration and delivered by experts in the field. ASLA is also now a NSW accredited provider of QTC registered professional development so your participation can contribute to the maintenance of your teacher accreditation.

Planned topics for 2018 include Tips for TLs, Using social media in your library, Genrefying the collection, Books awards/Incentives to read, Gamification, Copyright free resources, Cybersafety and updates to copyright laws that impact teacher librarians and many others.

Past Webinars become available on Slideshare some time after their presentation if permission has been granted by the presenter/s.

See the webinar program for 2018
.

November Webinar,  2018

Date: Wednesday 7 November, 2018

Topic: 'Genrefying' the School Library Collection
Ever wanted to branch out and move your collection to be categorised by Genre? Or have you ventured into this in your school library collection and wish to share your tips?

Webinar Starting Times: The webinar is of one hour duration. Starting times for each state are shown below.
These times reflect Australian Daylight Saving Time.

Adelaide at 7:00 pm ACDT   
Brisbane at 6:30 pm AEST
Canberra at 7:30 pm AEDT    
Darwin at 6:00 pm ACST
Hobart at 7:30 pm AEDT
Melbourne at 7:30 pm AEDT
Perth at 4:30 pm AWST
Sydney at 7:30 pm AEDT

Presenter: June Wall, Library Coordinator, NSW Department of Education Learning Systems and ASLA Board Director

Abstract: 
Genrefication or genrefying your collection is an activity that suits some school library communities depending on the needs of your learners. This webinar will overview the purpose, a variety of forms of genrefication as well as some suggested procedures if you wish to go down this path. It is aimed at both K-12 and all collections within a library - once I started in Fiction, I could then see the value in Non Fiction too!

Registration

Please register below to book a place at the November webinar - 'Genrefying' the School Library Collection

Member Registration: 40.00 + $4.00 GST
Non Member Registration: 50.00 + $5.00 GST

Please Note:

As you complete the Paypal payment you will see a link “Return to the Australian School Library Association”. You MUST click on this link to complete the last step in the registration process otherwise you will not receive a confirmation email that will contain your unique web link for the webinar.

If you register and are unable to attend the live webinar presentation the recording will be available to you to view for one week after the event.

Accreditation

This is a NESA accredited 1 hour session.





Cancellation policy

Should you be unable to attend the webinar, a substitute delegate is welcome.  All cancellations or alterations to registration must be made via an email to the webinar organiser at the Australian School Library Association. 

  • A refund of 50% of the registration fee will be made on cancellations received 3 weeks before the event.
  • After this time, no refunds will be made.
  • All refunds will be paid after the conclusion of the webinar.

 


Last updated: 10/26/2018 11:28:29 AM