Log in


ACCESS - From the President

ACCESS - Current Edition:

From the President

Access, Vol. 35, !ssue 1, 2021, p.2.

President, Margo Pickworth

Welcome back to 2021! I trust that all our members had a restful break and are prepared for yet another challenging year of working in school libraries. The ASLA Board has already been working hard to ensure that ASLA continues to provide strong national leadership for our profession.

A very warm welcome to Lee FitzGerald, our new ACCESS editor. Lee is well known in the teacher librarian space, currently an adjunct lecturer at Charles Sturt University and a leader in the field of guided inquiry. Already Lee has introduced some new initiatives to our journal which I am sure you will find rewarding and interesting reading.

There are many planned activities for the ASLA year. Following the resounding success of our ASLA Literacy Research Summit at the end of 2020, registrations are open for the ASLA Virtual National Conference, to be held in partnership with SLASA on 12 -13th April 2021. ASLA is also seeking to reward an outstanding Teacher Librarian through our ASLA Australian Teacher Librarian of the Year Award. Consider nominating a worthy colleague.

Our ASLA AGM is to be held on 13th April and we warmly invite participants to become involved in leading our dynamic professional organisation.

Finally, I would like to encourage and thank all those who work in school libraries for your passion and commitment and trust that 2021 will be a professionally rewarding year for all ASLA members.

Margo Pickworth
President, ASLA.

Become a member to read more.
Current and past issues are available for members here.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software